top of page

Swords & Shields, Gods & Mischief - What More Is There?

Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series is a treasure everyone should experience.



Don’t even deny it: you’ve wanted to be a demigod at Camp Half-Blood at least once in your life…


Most fantasy booklovers will remember reading Rick Riordan’s teenage series during their childhood and falling in love with the quirky Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon and his two best friends: Satyr, Grover, and daughter of Athena, Annabeth.


Now, as a huge fantasy fan, I am kind of embarrassed to admit that I have only started reading this series during lockdown… I can’t even begin to come up with an excuse for why, but after having read the first two instalments, I can only say that I can’t believe I’ve never picked these books up before - they’re so good!


Now, I know what you’re thinking; ‘aren’t those books aimed at kids?’ and the answer would be yes, but that doesn’t stop them being so loveable and enjoyable!


The Percy Jackson series (that I’ve read so far…), has that wholesome, heart-warming atmosphere to it that I really love. It’s one of the reasons I re-read Harry Potter so much; I’m a sucker for that nostalgic, secure feeling of warmth that reading a great kids or YA adventure story brings. In the world we live in, things like these are a necessity.



Genre and theme aside, what I love most about Riordan’s masterpiece is the diverse range of characters. Riordan’s grasp of Greek mythology is incredible and the way he brings it into the modern era, showcasing all kinds of people - young, old, with disabilities, with strengths, from varieties of backgrounds - is unbelievably clever.


The nods to popular culture will make you smile, and the inclusivity will make any reader feel at home at Camp Half-Blood. I, personally, can’t wait to finish the series!


Let me know in the comments what you think of the Percy Jackson series! Did you read it in your youth? Are you a fan of mythology?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page