top of page

Midnight Sun - Is Twilight Better Left In 2005?

My honest review of Midnight Sun...



It’s unpopular opinion time! I may be well out the other side of my teen years, but I’d be totally lying to you if I said I didn’t like the Twilight Saga - call it a guilty pleasure of mine. Okay, there, I said it.


So, with that out in the open, I’m going to talk about recently released novel, Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer - a retelling of the first Twilight book from vampire, Edward’s perspective.


Before picking up this book, my initial thoughts were along the lines of ‘oh this can’t be good, it’s clearly just milking the franchise for more than it’s worth.’ But, and I’m happy to say this, I found myself pleasantly surprised and actually really enjoyed it!


The first thing I noticed was that the writing style is much, much improved compared to the original series. I’m not sure whether this change is a result of Meyer being more experienced as a writer now, or the books being aimed at an older audience, or that Edward and his inner monologue was considerably older and more mature than Bella’s was. Either way, it made it much nicer to read than Twilight.


I thought that it was very interesting to see the story I know so well told through new (golden) eyes, and to be privy to the thought processes behind everything Edward did. Refreshingly, it made the book feel less like an infatuated teen ‘love at first sight’ story, and something more mature, more… supernatural. Which is what I’m assuming was intended.


While people may hate Meyer, I have to give it to her, she is committed to her story and its authentic telling. Unlike other authors and series with spin-offs or extra material (I won’t name names, but we all know anyway…), nothing Meyer writes in Midnight Sun contradicts or erases material from the original story. Honestly, I think that’s a sign of good writing.


Anyway, that’s enough from me. Let me know what you think! Were you ever a Twilight fan? Have you read Midnight Sun yet?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page